MMW Notes From The Underground

Medeski Martin & Wood Notes From The Underground

Notes From The Underground

Notes from the Underground MMW
January 1, 1992

Medeski Martin & Wood

Notes From The Underground

MMW’s DIY masterpiece. The foundation for their distinctive sound is captured on this album in all its acoustic grandeur. You can hear the band really stretch out in these arrangements, shifting from Ellington’s Caravan, to Wayne Shorter’s Orbits, to original compositions with the help of Sex Mob’s slide trumpeter extraordinaire Steven Bernstein.

Hermeto’s Daydream
The Saint
La Garonne
Uncle Chubb
John Medeski – Piano
Billy Martin – Drums, Percussion
Chris Wood – Bass

Steven Bernstein – Trumpet
Thomas Chapin – Alto Sax, Alto Flute
Douglas Yates – Bass Clarinet
Bill Lowe – Tuba, Trombone
Curtis Hasslebring – Trombone
Gloria Tropp – Vocalist

Horn arrangements by John Medeski

Recorded live to 2 track DAT *except horns live to 24 track
December 15 & 16, 1991, at Baby Monster, NYC by David Baker
Additional recording at Water Music, NJ
Mixed at Sound On Sound, NYC by David Baker and John Siket.
Editing by Bob Ward
Mastered by Bob Appel

View All Albums